Unie Kaas Robusto Cheese

This cheese is found at Whole Foods. One evening, my wife and I were looking for some cheese, as we enjoy a nosh before dinner. One of the store clerks asked if we needed help, I said that we wanted a nice cheese for snacking. He suggested this cheese Unie Kaas Robusto. It is made in the Netherlands and it is an aged gruyere. It is a semi-firm cheese and it has these little salt crystals in it and is best when sliced paper thin. Find a nice white wine and you’re set. I normally need to find crackers for cheese, but this stuff does not need it. Very addicting. Enjoy.

11 Responses to “Unie Kaas Robusto Cheese”

  1. smack Says:

    i agree, i have purchased this cheese several times and it always disappears quickly. mmmm.

  2. Carey Says:

    Robusto makes a killer mac’n cheese! Very addicting, indeed.

  3. catherine lacey dodd Says:

    I adore Mondays to Wednesdays when my son’s in school as I can hang out at Whole Foods with my 7 month old and together we can taste the Robusto. It’s wonderful on pizza, my recipe: http://reubenjackdodd.blogspot.com/2009/06/mamas-favourite-dinner.html

  4. Brian McLaughlin Says:

    I also was at Whole Foods and asked the eccentric foodie cheese guy what he recommended for wrapping pheasant in bacon w roasted jalapenos to cook on the grill – I needed a cheese that would hold up to the heat and not melt away. This cheese does the job and is phenomenal just all by itself

    This is the best cheese I’ve had – make sure to get this cheese
    The belly rules the mind. ~Spanish Proverb

  5. girl gone riding Says:

    This was delicious! We went back for more samples at Whole Foods.

  6. jorge Says:

    the aged Gouda……;=)

  7. luxury crackers Says:

    luxury christmas crackers…

    […]Unie Kaas Robusto Cheese « Village88[…]…

  8. Marvin Says:

    I first tasted it at Whole Food also. It reminded me of Leerdammer and I had to buy it for my wife. We just shared it and are very pleased!

  9. geraldine Altrichter Says:

    My son and daughter-in-law sent us this cheese for Christmas. It is wonderful! The flavor is mild yet tantalizing. We asked them to send us more as we cannot get it here in Grand Marais, Minnesota. I also grate it for the topping on Fanolli Soup…Delicious!

  10. 808Dan Says:

    Goes very well with dark beers, Merlot, or Cabernet Sav…

  11. SimpleSue Says:

    Reblogged this on Simplesue's Blog and commented:
    Robusto UnieKass

Leave a Reply

